Q. When does the new law go into effect? A. The new law, SB 75, also known as the Workplace Transparency Act, went into effect on January 1, 2020.
Q. When are the deadlines for providing training for Illinois? A. Illinois employers will have until January 2, 2021 to train all employees on harassment prevention.
Q. Who requires training? A. All employees, both supervisor and non-supervisor require training.
Q. How soon after employment and how frequently is training required? A. Illinois employers have 90 days to provide training to new hires. Annual training is required.
Q. What should be included in the training? A. Specifically, the training must include: • an explanation of sexual harassment • examples of conduct that constitutes unlawful sexual harassment • a summary of relevant federal and state statutory provisions concerning sexual harassment including remedies available to victims of sexual harassment • a summary of responsibilities of employers in the prevention, investigation, and corrective measures of sexual harassment Q. What happens if companies don’t offer the training? A. The penalties for noncompliance can be steep. Fines for the first violation will be up to $1,000, up to $3,000 for the second violation, and up to $5,000 for all subsequent violations. Our training course exceeds Illinois State compliance requirements • Additional protection from liability • Proven effective training for millions of users • An online tracking mechanism for easy record-keeping • An automatic yearly reminder and enrollment for training • Bookmarking capabilities so employees can start and stop training • A direct link and acknowledgement of your organization’s harassment policy • A certificate of completion
© 2020 All Rights Reserved